Registration and Agenda are Available for Fall Regional Meeting

Please join WLIA in beautiful Door County at the Stone Harbor Resort, October 11th and 12th for the Fall 2018 Regional Meeting!

The agenda has an excellent range of presentations! Highlights include: getting ready for the upcoming 2022 datum change, GIS in maritime archaeology, sexually violent persons and NARCAN mapping in West Allis, and an update on statewide school district boundary data collection efforts by the WI Department of Public Instruction. We’ll also learn more about a new statewide Public Land Survey System project being conducted by the State Cartographer’s Office and Dept. of Administration, along with several presentations on important issues facing Door County.

Friday morning will feature three presentations on the role of GIS in Next Generation 911. In addition to Chris Diller from the WI Department of Military Affairs, we will have two invited speakers share their insights on NG911. Minnesota GIO Dan Ross will discuss the “Minnesota experience” with NG911 and what they’ve learned so far. We are also thrilled to have Sandi Stroud with Michael Baker International describe her observations gained from working on NG911 implementations throughout the U.S.

We encourage you to join us for Social Night on Thursday evening which will feature a traditional Door County fish boil at Waterfront Mary’s Bar & Grill in Sturgeon Bay. Fish not your thing? No worries, chicken and vegetarian dinners will also be available. Bus transportation is provided, but space is limited, so please register soon. You can sign up along with your meeting registration or you can register for social night separately if necessary.

For those interested in attending, the room rates at the Stone Harbor Resort in Sturgeon Bay are $82 single or $150 for double occupancy. Attendees will need to call the hotel directly to make reservations.

For more information or questions, please contact Ann Barrett (WLIA Executive Services Manager), or Jim Lacy (Fall 2018 Education Committee Chair).

Comments are closed.